Pickup Trucks Europe
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Secure storage of tools and such

2 posters

Go down

Secure storage of tools and such Empty Secure storage of tools and such

Post by douggie Fri Jul 12, 2013 10:24 pm

My trusty ford fiesta is coming to the end of it's life, which has been a hard one as it's been my family car plus work car. The latter is a job it's not best suited to as I’m an electrician and have a lot of gear to carry.

As I need a vehicle that can carry my kids on the weekend and my tools in the week I'm looking to buy a used double cab pick-up truck. My budget is only about £4000 and looking on auto-trader I'm probably going to have to buy a ten year old Ford Ranger or Mitsubishi L200.

I'm more drawn to the Ford as it looks a bit more professional, my only concern is security of my gear in the back and I was wondering if anyone has any experience of building from scratch or fitting prefabbed boxes in the back.

I have a fair bit of metal fabrication experience so I’ll need to weigh up the cost  and time of building form scratch or buying and was hoping to hear about your experiences and how secure you felt the end results were, i.e. were you happy to leave tools in the truck over night or only when it was impractical to take them all out.
douggie
douggie

Back to top Go down

Secure storage of tools and such Empty Re: Secure storage of tools and such

Post by jpmc Sun Jul 14, 2013 2:17 pm

I use my Navara for work and play.
I have a canopy on the back of mine and also I made up a sliding drawer system so all the parts I need to carry are hidden from sight in the draw and it still leaves me plenty of covered space to load stuff into the back.